Academy A{nnie}wards

When I mentioned to hubs on Sunday morning that the Oscars were on later that night, he started to panic, before I cut him off and reminded him that AWARDS SEASON IS MY FOOTBALL SEASON, and at least I don’t make him go to all of the games, so to speak.  So he mostly let me enjoy them in peace.  And while I am by no means a fashion guru, I do like looking at pretty clothes, and sometimes I even have opinions on them.  I love awards season because people get dressed up and there’s always so much drama about who looks good, who looks bad, who looks one too-enthusiastic-wave away from a nip slip, etc. and I can’t get enough of it.  These are my favorite looks from last night.

Cameron Diaz
I love that her hair is short and she keeps it that way.  She makes me feel better about having super thin hair that looks awkward once it hits my shoulders.  This picture is from the after party because I like this even better than her awards show look.  Not many people can pull off orange.

Shailene Woodley
I think most of my goodwill for her comes from the fact that a) I actually saw The Descendants last week, and b) she has risen above a really horrible ABC Family show to work with George Clooney and get nominated for multiple awards as a result.  This dress might not be the most conventional choice, but I think it suits her fashion sense, because this is a girl that will wear purple pants when everyone else is wearing cocktail dresses.  Also, she just seems really cool and smart and like she’s not taking any of this for granted.  Some people should take notes (*ahem* Rooney Mara).

Emma Stone
I love Emma Stone.  I’m not sure why.  But I think this dress is fun and youthful and looks so snazzy on her.  I appreciate that she didn’t go the strapless route.  And I have two shirts in my closet with similar necklines in similar colors.  Maybe that’s why I like this so much.

Michelle Williams
I never imagined that I would appreciate anything that Michelle Williams wore anytime, ever, because she tends to dress herself like a child who is very aware that she is adorable, and that kind of drives me insane.  But I like this.  Mostly because it doesn’t look like a 12 year old’s cotillion dress.

Gwyneth Paltrow
SHE IS WEARING A CAPE AND IT LOOKS AWESOME.  That’s pretty much it.

Leave a Reply

