Stupid Easy Turkey Meatloaf Recipe

I hate cooking.  Hate it.  When I get home from work, the thought of spending another hour working on something makes me want to curl up into a ball and silently weep until I can’t feel feelings anymore.  I wish I was born with the cooking gene.  My grandma spends hours on single meals.  My mom is a culinary artiste.  But I refuse to spend longer making something than it takes to eat it.  That’s my threshold.

Enter this super easy and quick meatloaf recipe.  It took about 5 minutes to assemble, and then another 45 minutes in the oven {which I spent drinking a glass of Merlot and trying to talk to hubs while he tried to concentrate on reading the Wall Street Journal, which I don’t count as prep time since I wasn’t paying any attention to food}, and then it was complete.  Here’s the recipe if you’re so inclined.

Stupid Easy Meatloaf
makes: 1 loaf of meat

Ingredients:
1 to 1.5 lbs of ground turkey
1/2 cup of breadcrumbs
1/2 cup of oats
1/2 of a green pepper, chopped
1/2 of a large sweet onion, chopped (onion goggles optional)
1 egg
Some salt & pepper & any other spices that you so desire
Some ketchup

Directions:
Preheat over to 350°
Mix the turkey, breadcrumbs, oats, pepper, onion, salt & pepper, and egg until evenly blended but not puréed or anything
Press into a loaf pan, firmly but not smooshily
Cover the top with a medium-thick layer of ketchup
Bake at 350° for 45 minutes or until the internal temperature is 161°

Ta da!

Here’s the nutrition information.  Not too shabby…

9 thoughts on “Stupid Easy Turkey Meatloaf Recipe

    • I only added oats because the recipe I used for inspiration called for 1 cup of breadcrumbs, and I only had 1/2 cup. You could double the breadcrumbs! I couldn’t taste the oats at all. 🙂

  1. Anne, if you don’t have a crock pot, I am getting you one for your birthday! Talk about stupid easy: meat + open/dump can ingredients or veggies + 4-8 hours = yummy dinner plus leftovers PLUS I’m-an-awesome-wife points 🙂

  2. If you don’t like turkey, you can use extra lean ground sirloin as well (something like a 94-6). Just be sure to add a little extra ketchup and spices, which make up for the loss of fat.

Leave a Reply

