You look, like, SUPER familiar…

So I made the farmhouse light fixture last night.  It’s not that great.  I intended to hang it in our dining room, but it’s definitely not worthy, so it’ll go into what we call the “crap room”, which is full of boxes and random junk from when we moved into our house over a year ago.  We never go in the crap room, which means the fancy Edison bulb that I bought that is supposed to last for 1.4 years if used 3 hours per day will probably last us…until the year 2049.  At least.

I had to trim some of the wires on the bottom of the hanging planter that I bought so that  it would nest into the light fixture, and the method I used was efficient but really, really rednecky.  It involved nail polish, tree branch clippers, and a broomstick, for stability.  But it got the job done.

I made a quick stop at Home Depot last night with Buster in tow, although he stayed in the car while I shopped, but it’s okay because it was neither warm nor cold outside, and he doesn’t freak out, he just watches and waits for my return, and it only took 3 minutes to get in/out so please don’t judge me.

The girl at the returns station and I had this conversation:

Girl: You look, like, SUPER familiar.
Me: Oh, funny…uh, did you go to (Blank) High School?
Girl: Nope.
Me: Huh. (awkward pause) Well, I, er…
Girl: I’ve only been coming to this area for about a year.
Me: Oh okay, well I moved back here a year ago, so…
Girl: Yeah, I’ve probably seen you around, like at Starbucks or something.
Me: Yeah…probably.
(That was a lie. I don’t go to Starbucks.  Not on principle, it’s just, I have a perfectly good coffee maker at home, which is free, so what’s the point?)

I guess I just have one of those faces…?

Moral of the story: If you tell someone that they look familiar, have a followup question, because you probably don’t look familiar to them and they’ll be at a loss for how to respond to you.  Or, you could just pretend that they don’t look familiar and say nothing, which is what I would do.

Tonight we are hopefully taking a trip to the other side of the city to pick up some ridiculously amazing dressers for our master bedroom that I found on Craigslist.  I do have some competition, but hopefully the other buyer will not be impressed, and we’ll get to bring them home instead.  Fingers crossed!

3 thoughts on “You look, like, SUPER familiar…

  1. Pingback: DIY Farmhouse Light Fixture | Assorted Annie

Leave a Reply

