So, Thanksgiving Happened.

So, Thanksgiving was fine.  Nobody cried!  But hosting is flipping exhausting.  No matter how prepared you think you are or how much work you do in advance, there is still going to be a crap ton of stuff to do last minute.  By the end of it, my back was killing me from washing so many dishes and pots and casseroles, and I think the longest I got to sit at the dinner table was about 90 seconds, because of various demands for superfluous things like forks, plates, etc. etc. and so forth.

Maybe I’m not cut out for this housewifey thing after all.

The funniest part of the whole experience was when my family left, and I was left with hubs, his parents, and his kooky cousin.  So naturally, I set out to finish the 4 bottles of wine we had overzealously uncorked before dinner so they wouldn’t go to waste (not even 2 Buck Chuck is poured down the drain at casa de Annie).  Around 10:30 p.m., drunk and looking for something to do other than watch football, I suggested we go to the nearest Target at midnight to watch the herd of Black Friday cows file in and fistfight over TVs.  Shockingly, everyone was game for a trip.

As soon as we got to Target, we realized our mistake, as none of us were laughing at the insanely long line to get in the door.  Rather than walk half a mile to the end of the queue, we opted to wait off to the side near the entrance, planning to go in once the doors had opened and the line had dissipated.  When we finally made our way into the madness, we could tell that all of the good stuff was gone.  I headed back to the electronics section, and this is what I saw:

I was so scared.  Luckily I found my way back to my in-laws, who had miraculously managed to score this baby from someone in the checkout line who realized that her mom, at another Target, had already scored the coveted item of the night:

It was OURS, all ours.  My in-laws were nice enough to pick it up for us as a Christmas gift, and now we are the proud owners of a living room TV whose image doesn’t burn itself into the screen when you push pause on the DVR.  It’s glorious.

I’m generally not a fan of Black Friday, mostly because of the crowds, having to stand uncomfortably close to strangers, and having to make snap decisions about buying things, which gives me lots of anxiety.  But we didn’t take it too seriously, and everybody came home happy.

Anybody else have an exciting Black Friday adventure?

Leave a Reply

