San Francisco Or Bust…I Choose Bust

Hubs and I visited San Francisco for our first wedding anniversary this past July, and ever since then, he’s been daydreaming (to himself and out loud to me) about relocating out west.  He really, really loved San Fran…and I wish I could agree.  Here are my generalized thoughts on the city.  If you’re offended by any of these, sorry in advance.

1. The Weather

Every. Single. Person. that we told about our plans to go to San Francisco repeated the famous Mark Twain quote, “The coldest winter I ever saw was the summer I spent in San Francisco.”  After the twelfth time, we were like, we knowwwww, San Francisco is cold in the summer.  WE GET IT!  But the truth is, it really is chilly.  Our first night there, the fog hung so low that you could taste it, and I had to wear closed-toe shoes, a jacket, and a scarf.  Keep in mind, we had traveled from Atlanta, where it was approximately 1,000 degrees with 1000% humidity.  So while the cool weather was a nice break, it also felt really, really wrong.  We got a better view of the grim reaper fog when we were driving back into the city via Oakland a few days later, and it looked like the apocalypse, people!  I did not get warm fuzzies from the “charming” San Francisco weather.  Not at all.

2. Mmmmm Food

My favorite food that we got to try in SF was a sourdough bread bowl with some sort of tomato bisque.  It warmed the cockles of my heart, it was so good.  But if I were faced with the dilemma of what to eat every day in San Francisco, and I had sourdough breadbowls as a readily available option, I would weigh 800 lbs.  Additionally, when the weather is depressing, I tend to eat my feelings (see item #1).  Foggy weather + sourdough mecca = popping the top button on my jeans, forever.

Sidenote: the shrimp in San Fran are effing creepy.  If you are from the east coast and shrimp are important to you, then DO NOT order shrimp in San Fran.  They are small, bumpy, and creep me the F out.

3. The MotherClucking Hills

Never have my calves hated me so much that after a day of walking around San Francisco.  There is a reason why everyone who lives there has such toned legs; also a reason why they take the trolley an extra block and walk DOWN to wherever they are going.  People who know better avoid walking uphill at all costs in this city.  Tourists like us will probably never learn.  I enjoy a leisurely stroll in a new city when I’m traveling, but there is nothing leisurely about strolling through San Francisco.

4. MoneyMoneyMoneyMoney

San Francisco is mucho expensivo!  Everything from housing to food to entertainment is expensive in this city.  Probably not as bad as New York…probably.  I decided on a whim to look at what kind of condo we could get in the city for the same price that we spent on our house in Atlanta, and if the thought of trading in a 4 bedroom house for a studio was appealing to me, I’d be packing my bag right now (see what I did there?  BAG.  No use in bringing clothes that won’t fit in the door of your 10X15 shoebox of an apartment).

5. Distance

San Francisco is approximately 2,500 miles from my family here in Georgia.  It’s even further from hubs’ parents in Savannah.  While I would like to consider myself an independent woman who has no qualms about moving across the country or even the world in order to experience a new adventure, I would miss my mom too much.

In short, I am a chicken who is afraid of change, weird shrimp, and seasonal depression.  The End.

5 thoughts on “San Francisco Or Bust…I Choose Bust

  1. As a recent visitor to SFO, I would say you’ve captured the essence very well. My fav pic is the one showing the gradient – boy that was a difficult climb, but the hearty meal we had after scaling that street felt good.

  2. My dear Annie,

    I can relate to ALL of these concerns with hindsight on my quest to live in Chicago.

    1. Weather – I was totally ready for it. I’m hot natured and thus prefer to be cold…but when I got a call from my friend that there was still snow in April (my birthday month), I figured it was a no go. I like to see flowers and sunshine around the time I get another year older…as opposed to witnessing “Nature” still stuck in a white blistering coma.

    2. Food – What was that? I can get delicious Deep Dish Pizza or authentic Chicago Dogs at my convenience? Yeah, I’d be eating my feelings as well…Just did tonight with a McRib while I get through this cold. With the food choices in a city like Chicago, you can kiss that weight I lost.

    3. Hills? Afraid not… – Actually looking forward to the flatness of Savannah in December. But let’s talk about location: Chicago is about as exciting as it gets…where do you go to get away from it all? Milwaukee? South Bend? Indianapolis? Gurl puhleeze…At least with Atlanta you have an International Gateway to several destinations…even a connection to Heaven (People talk…you hear things…).

    4. Show me the Money – I barely livin’ the life here in HOTlanta, how the hell am I supposed to support myself in an overpriced city like Chitown? In six months, you would’ve found me shackin’ up in a hostile for Jorge and Bianca and their 4 Swedish children. Flights home? Yeah, you’d see me mayyybe once at Christmas…I need my family/friends.

    5. Distance – It’s close enough…but not really. The drive itself is 12 hours and my time is precious these days.

    If you’re going to relocate…it’s never on your terms, it’s all about opportunity. I learned that lesson all too well…Forgive my rant, but I had to share my own thoughts on the experience.

    P.S. Still loving this blog like WHOA…

Leave a Reply

