Squirrel On The Bathroom Wall

Our downstairs half-bath is cavernous.  I haven’t measured it, but it’s the same width as our kitchen, which puts it at about 10-12 feet in length.  The sink countertop is loooooong, with one sink at the end that’s away from the door.  Then there’s a giant gap, and then the toilet.  So the wall opposite the sink/mirror/toilet is one giant blank canvas.  Kinda like this:

not to scale, probably.

Remember how in this post I painted a wall sconce  for the dining room yellow, and blamed it on the flooring in our bathrooms?  BEHOLD:

It’s really yellow.  And we are new homeowners and not quite ready to rip out any flooring just yet.  I mean, we’re still painting and trying to find matching throw pillows.  Baby steps, people.

We had about half a gallon of Behr Squirrel paint leftover from our dining room painting project last December, so I decided to tie the two caddy-corner spaces together by painting the giant empty wall in the hall bathroom Squirrel as well.  I’m not a huge fan of accent walls, but in this case, painting one wall was attractive because dark paint is hard for me to deal with and I didn’t want to spend 3 days edging.  Because I’m lazy.

So, here it is, in all its Squirrel glory.  This picture might be more true to color:

Some notes: Frog tape is my savior.  I have a pretty steady hand, but the frog tape gives you SUCH a good line around the edges.  Just make sure it’s really adhered to the wall by running your nail along it before you paint.  Also, I had a lot of dripping problems, which I didn’t realize until after the paint had dried.  Someday, when we remove the ancient towel rod and toilet paper holder, I will remedy this.

Here’s another view of the bathroom counter, including frog tape and stepstool:

And a special shoutout to the Anthropologie towel that I bought to tie these crazy kids together.  It’s the only thing I’ve paid full price for in probably 10 years.  Not exaggerating.

I’ll be adding some art to the big blank wall as soon as I can find something I like enough to look at while I pee.  Someday down the line, we’re hoping to make the bathroom smaller by getting a less intrusive vanity that is closer to the toilet, and opening up the rest of the space to make a wetbar or a mini-library that is part of the living room (like below).  Until then, yellow tile and accent wall it is.

One thought on “Squirrel On The Bathroom Wall

Leave a Reply

