Are You Sure I Have Thin Hair?

If fine, thin, flat hair has a poster child, I am it.  I’m like the Gerber Baby of the follically challenged.  In case you are wondering, as most hairstylists do:

  • Yes, it’s always been this way.
  • No, I’m not on some weird medication that made my hair like this.
  • Yes, all of my sisters have lustrous heads of hair.
  • No, you can’t call all of the other stylists over to feel my head.
  • Yes, I’ve tried Nioxin and it made my hair smell like a haystack.
  • No, I will not tie it up in a silk scarf while I sleep to prevent further thinning; my anti-grinding mouthguard is enough of a turnoff to my husband as it is.

That’s really me with my older sister, circa 1986, probably.

Thus, I am constantly on the lookout for products that can beef up my mane.  I’ve tried pretty much ever mousse available at major retailers, I’ve splurged on the fancy stuff from my hair salon, and I’ve tried three different root lifting foams, but they all fail me in some way, whether by making my hair crunchy and stiff or by being discontinued completely (happens a lot).

Recently I had two different friends preach the benefits of one volumizing product in particular: Bumble & Bumble Thickening Spray.  One of said friends had a spare bottle and gave it to me to try, and I have to say, so far I love it.  It gives me volume and keeps my hair soft and light without making it crunchy or weird!  It’s definitely more amped up volume-wise.  Another plus: you don’t have to get your hands all gunked up like you do when applying mousse.  Just spray it in and blow dry and you’re done.  As far as I can tell, there is no trace of it when I run my fingers through my hair.  It is awesome.  So far.  Sometimes these love affairs are fleeting.

At $26 per bottle, it sure ain’t cheap, but French people spend something like $100,000 on beauty products in their lifetime, so I figure one little bottle of this stuff every once in a while still won’t put me in that ballpark.  I’ll indulge in this one splurge, and continue to cut corners on things like wine and oil changes.  10,000 miles is the new 3,000 miles, am I right?

2 thoughts on “Are You Sure I Have Thin Hair?

Leave a Reply

