Should You Get A Dog?

I debated forevvvvvver over whether or not I should get a dog.  I figured that there are many other people out there who are struggling with this decision, so I thought I’d share my story in hopes that it helps somebody else decide.  I’m the most indecisive person on the planet, so if I can do it, so can you.

Back when I was apartment hopping, I didn’t think I had enough space for a dog.  But living in a small apartment is better than sitting in a cage at animal control, or worse yet, being euthanized.  If you’re concerned about this, get a dog that fits your home.  Buster weighs 25 pounds, but all he does is sleep all day in an armchair, so that’s all the space he needs when we’re not there.  If you live in a small apartment, then don’t get a bull mastiff, you know?  Use common sense.


I was also concerned with the fact that I work full time and wouldn’t be able to spend enough time at home with a dog.  Buster is luckily big enough that he can hold it all day with no problem.  But I know smaller dogs can’t hold it as long, so be cognizant of that, too.  He’s always happy to see me when I get home so I don’t think he minds that I have a job.  Somebody has to pay for his toys, after all.

I should also note that Buster was housetrained when we adopted him, so I have zero experience with that.  It sounds like it sucks, so I’m glad we avoided it.

When they say that dog owners are healthier than people who don’t own dogs, I will say that Buster gets me off my ass more than I used to get off of my ass on my own accord.  Now, when I get home from work, instead of plopping down on the couch with a snack and a rerun of 90210, I leash him up and walk him around the block, or take him to a nearby park so we can both get some exercise.

There are sacrifices to be made if you get a dog.  When we go out of town, we board him.  That costs money.  So did the surprise vet visit when he grew a tumor on his paw.  And if we’re downtown on a weekend night, we can’t just crash at a friend’s house.  I view our dog as my hobby, so the time and money I put into his well being is comparable to the time and money that my husband spends on football season.  It’s just how I choose to spend it.

Most importantly, I love dogs.  If you love dogs, too, then you’ll enjoy having one.  I have zero regrets.  The End.

Leave a Reply

