The Millenium Triology Messes with my Head

A month or so ago I was at the grocery store waiting for a prescription (thanks, bronchitis!), and I impulsively bought The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in paperback, because I needed a new book to read, and the American movie version is coming out in December and is supposed to be a super big deal, so I wanted to be prepared.

I read Dragon Tattoo in a matter of days.  It was suspenseful, cohesive, and kept me entertained for every second (although I would’ve been lost without the family tree in the front of the book).  It ended with some great closure: mystery solved, everyone goes about their day.  I loved it, so I quickly bought the second book in the trilogy, The Girl Who Played with Fire, which I finished last night.

All I have to say is, WTF Stieg Larsson!  (Bless his soul.)

Being a trilogy, I just assumed that the 2nd and 3rd books would follow the format of the 1st, with a mystery throughout that is neatly solved in the final pages.  BUT NO!  The 2nd book ended on a hell of a cliffhanger.  I was PISSED.  When I slammed the book down on my nighstand at 11:00 p.m., hubs was like, what is wrong with you?  After 700 pages of suspense, the book just STOPS.  And yes, I realize that the 3rd book is already published, I just have to go buy it to get the last bit of the story.  But I’m bummed.  I wanted a 3rd mystery.  And now I’m assuming that the 3rd book is just the conclusion of the 2nd one.

I hope I’m wrong.

I love reading fiction because it’s an escape from every day life.  It’s pretty much all I will read in my leisure time.  The last fictional book my husband read was The Da Vinci Code.  Otherwise he’s reading books about the economy, philosophy, business…zzzzzzoh sorry I fell asleep there for a second.  I tried to coax him into reading Dragon Tattoo when I was done with it, but describing it in an appealing way was sort of difficult.  It’s intense, and at times uncomfortable and gory, but it’s just a super cool murder mystery novel.  If you want to read something that makes you feel smart but isn’t difficult to comprehend, read this trilogy.

Leave a Reply

