A Brownie Going Blonde

This time tomorrow, I’m going to be blonde.

Let me give you a brief hair history.  When I was little, I was definitely a blondie.

As I grew older, my hair started to become darker.

When I got to middle school, I panicked and used Sun-In to try and delay the inevitable.

I eventually overcompensated and went the opposite direction, sometimes dyeing my hair jet black.

I finally got comfortable/lazy with my hair and just let it be what it was meant to be…light brown.  I was once told that “people would KILL for” my natural highlights…this is unconfirmed.

I’ve always wanted to lighten my hair, but fear has always overtaken.  Will it be expensive?  Would I rather spend the money on clothes/travel/another puppy (hubby would kill me…totally worth it)?  Will I regret messing with my God-given hair color that is, by all accounts, completely acceptable?

There are a couple of reasons I’m considering taking the leap, and they only get stronger as I get older.  My hair is SERIOUSLY thin.  It’s been that way since I was a kid, which I partially blame on things like thyroid disease (more on that later), but which is more likely attributed to plain old bad luck.  All of my sisters (yes, I said all) have hair of normal thickness.  I’m having a good day if you can’t see my scalp.

Additionally, lightening your hair expands the hair shaft, and makes your hair feel/appear thicker.  Hell yes it does!  And lastly, I am no spring chicken: I am 27, and the older I get, the closer I come to having gray hair.  I’d like to preemptively hide the evidence.

So tomorrow night, I will hopefully be freshly highlighted and feeling no regret.  My hair has been its natural color for at least the past 10 years.  I’m afraid to mess with a good thing, but at the same time, what do I have to lose?  My hair’s not that great anyway.

Stay tuned for the before and after.  I’m sure it will be exhilarating.

Leave a Reply

